Speakers and Schedule Announced!

by Darren Barefoot ()

After much negotiation, communication and white-board usage, we've got a full-on schedule with all our speakers sorted. Thanks to everyone who submitted a proposal. We were blown away by the quality and diversity of all of the submissions, and count ourselves lucky that we had so many to choose from.

We've tried to create a conference that will be of interest to both the beginner and veteran blogger, both the technically-inclined and the technically-ambivalent. We think we've got something for everybody, and all for the ridiculously low price of $20 (if you register ahead of time). Check out the schedule below, and be sure to register!

The conference will be held in Vancouver, Canada on Saturday, February 19, 2005. For more information, check out the FAQ.

8:30 - 8:45

Opening Remarks

8:45 - 9:30
- Topic TBA

9:30 - 10:15
- Topic TBA

10:15 - 10:30
Coffee Break

10:30 - 11:30
Speaker: Public vs. Private - Blogging and the Family

Julie Leung

Speaker: Introduction to Audio Blogging and Podcasting

Tod Maffin

11:30 - 12:30
Speaker: Community Blogging

Stephen Downes

Speaker: Introduction to Video Blogging

Jay Dedman & Peter Bull

12:30 - 1:30
Go forth and have lunch

1:30 - 3:00
Panel: Promoting Your Blog and Building Traffic

Jeremy Wright

Suw Charman

Derek K. Miller

Chris Pirillo

Darren Barefoot,


Panel: Introduction to Blogging

Brian Lamb

Arjun Singh

Roland Tanglao

Lauren Wood,


Panel: Blogging in Academia

Laura Trippi


Seb Paquet

Cyprien Lomas, moderator

3:30 - 3:45
Coffee Break

3:45 - 4:45
Panel: The Blogger as Citizen Journalist

Stowe Boyd

Sean Holman

Brian Lamb, moderator

Panel: Working with Multimedia Content

(images, audio, video)

John Anderies

Mack D. Male

Jay Dedman
Peter Bull

Tod Maffin
Marc Canter
Roland Tanglao,


Panel: Personal Blogging - Types and Styles of Blogs and Blogging

Arjun Singh
Julie Leung

Susannah Gardner

Lauren Wood, moderator

4:45 - 5:30
Lightning Tool Talks - Participants TBA

5:30 - 7:30
Dinner Break

7:30 -
Post-Conference Party